NaPoWriMo Day 7

NaPoWriMo Day 7 Poetry Prompt
Write a love poem to an inanimate object

Coffee Rings

You’re strong and earthy and aromatic
You’re romantic and lovely
You’re heaven or rather my idea of heaven
And you go with every other thing I hold dear in my life
You are a part of it all…
Coffee as my eyes open in the morning
Coffee as they close at night
Emily Dickinson and coffee
Thomas Merton and coffee
Coffee before and after my rosary
Coffee at 2 a.m. as the rain drums on the windows of my favorite diner
Coffee before and after intimacy
Coffee and cigarettes in the car as I travel the winding mountain roads with the newest Amber Rubarth CD
The sun sets and rises over the ocean
And I have a blanket, Anne Lamott and my thermos
My dogs and coffee
My cat and coffee
A lipstick stained coffee cup
A collection of coffee cups
Coffee and biscotti
Coffee and smiles
Coffee and tears
You are here and there and everywhere
Coffee rings are my signature.

Leave a Reply

