Inspired by Mazzy Star’s Into Dust

For Josh

image

My memories of you are dust
And this house I stand in is layered with dust
The loss of you scattered particles hither and yon
They settle and dwell in every corner
On every surface
I breathe them in and they get tangled in my lungs
Can’t catch my breath
Crippled by sobs and lost inhalations
Breathless
You’re a stranger now
But every little fleck holds your body and your heart and your scent and your touch
You and I and everything we were is dust
And this house is layered with dust.

Leave a Reply

