Bout of Books Challenge – Day 3

It’s day 3 of the Bout of Books Read-A-Thon and my challenge today comes from Writing My Own Fairytale.

The Challenge – Character Coupling – Take two charcters from two different books and put them together.

After some deliberation I think I’m going to go with…
Luna Lovegood from Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling (and)
Tristran Thorne from Stardust by Neil Gaiman

First off, I am a HUGE fan of both of these characters. I think that Tristran’s adventurous spirit, loyalty and single-mindedness would pair very well with Luna’s perceptive, quirky and somewhat “spacy” personality. They would balance each other out in a sense.

One of the things I’ve loathed about different characters over my years of reading are characters that attempt to change other characters. This dynamic turns me off immediately! I don’t see either of these characters attempting to change the other although they may privately wish that this or that personality was different. I see changes coming in the characters inevitably due simply to the fact of time spent together. These are the kinds of transformations I love to see in literature!

I envision Tristran and Luna as the best of friends, kindred spirits. I envision a story-line filled with cosmic events lining up and bringing them closer and closer together until a flame ignites! A serendipitous turn of events that lasts forever and endures through turmoil and peril and romance and intrigue.

image
image

2 thoughts on “Bout of Books Challenge – Day 3

  1. I haven’t read Stardust before but from your description and reasons for putting these two characters together, I feel like I must! Thanks so much for participating!

Leave a Reply

