Joining The Classics Club

image

So here is a perfect long term reading challenge for me to take part in!

When making my 2015 resolutions my reading resolution was very near the top, second only to my family resolutions. I am very intent on minimizing my television/movie time and increasing my written word time. I’ve started partcipating in a number of reading/writing challenges around the web and in doing so have found some outstanding book blogs and vlogs.

One that I came across was The Classics Club on WordPress.

How perfect is this! Reading the classics at your own pace over 5 years and posting reviews on your blog. This just sings to me and I can’t wait to get started!

As per the sign up requirements I am listing 51 books (actually slightly more because some of them are series) that I plan to read and review over the next several years. I’ve chosen a very diverse collection including children’s classics, young adult classics, new classics, romance, drama, science-fiction/fantasy. They run the whole spectrum!

1.  The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
2.  The Chronicles of Narnia Series by C.S. Lewis
3.  Anne of Green Gables Series by L.M. Montgomery
4.  Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
5.  Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
6.  Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
7.  The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens
8.  The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
9.  Black Beauty by Anna Sewell
10. Lord of the Flies by William Golding
11. Alices Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll
12. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
13. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
14. Villette by Charlotte Bronte
15. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
16. The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
17. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
18. Meet the Austins by Madeleine L’Engle
19. The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Graham
20. Peter and Wendy by J.M. Barrie
21. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
22. Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
23. Bridge of Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
24. The Giver by Lois Lowry
25. Sybil by Flora Rheta Schreiber
26. A History of the English Speaking People by Winston Churchill
27. How the Heather Looks by Joan Joshed
28. The Complete Father Brown by G.K. Chesterton
29. The Man Who Was Thursday by G.K. Chesterton
30. The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis
31. Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis
32. Keep A Quiet Heart by Elisabeth Elliot
33. Let Me Be A Woman by Elisabeth Elliof
34. Inkheart Series by Cornelia Funke
35. Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare
36. Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare
37. Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
38. The Illustrated Man by Ray Bradbury
39. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
40. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
41. Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut
42. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey
43. Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Tom Hardy
44. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by Frank L. Baum
45. Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by Rick Riordan
46. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smitg
47. Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray
48. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
49. The Handmaids Tale by Margaret Atwoox
50. Catwings Series by Ursula K Le Guin
51. Earthsea Series by Ursula K Le Guin

I have previously read a number of these books over the years but have never done a review and some of them I will be reading for the first time. I am starting with The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman and hope to have a review up within the next week or two.

Finally… I am starting this challenge on 1/8/15 and hope to complete my challenge by 1/31/20.

**Side Note – I am having a bit of trouble figuring out how to put the Classics Club button on my blog. As soon as I work it out the button will appear on my blog.**

One thought on “Joining The Classics Club

Leave a Reply

