Where I Am

image

Deuteronomy 6:5-7
5 Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. 6 These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. 7 Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.

It’s 2015 and I am desperate to understand and apply the Word of God in my life. I need the Lord in my life and I need to be concious of His will rather than my own. I have muddled through years of depression and physical illness getting by on my own will to survive… just survive. Last year, I read a wonderful book entitled “Say Goodbye to Survival Mode” by Crystal Paine. Some quotes that I’ve been meditating on are: “Remind yourself that there are seasons in life” and the question “Am I spending time on my priorities?” It’s 2015 and I’m saying goodbye to survival mode and hello to living; living in the Word of God.

It’s certainly not an overnight process. It’s deliberate action, deliberate action according to God’s will. I feel the need to fill my mind with worthy things. The Bible along with other spiritual and uplifting things such as books and music and movies. Attending church and focusing on my devotional time. Constant prayer. Detailed attention to home school with my daughter; including the things of God in her lessons.

Recently, I began reading Raising A Daughter After God’s Own Heart by Elizabeth George. As my daughter is now 16 years old I berated myself a bit, internal chatter saying … ” It’s too late!” Almost miraculously I picked up another book by Lysa Terkheurst entitled “Made to Crave for Young Women” and read these words: “You’ve never gone too far that God can’t redeem you, restore you, forgive you and give you a second chance.” Immediately, I wrote this down on a notecard and posted it on my bulletin board. It has become my mantra.

The struggle is still real amd sometimes overwhelming, but since implementing this “lofty purpose” I find I am more able to feel as though I am living rather than simply surviving and to feel confident in the knowledge that it is not too late to pass on this “lofty purpose” to my daughter.

9 thoughts on “Where I Am

  1. “It’s a deliberate action.” AMEN! What a wonderful post, my friend. I truly appreciate your heart and thoughts. Thank you for sharing at Roses of Inspiration. Have a beautiful day! Hugs

  2. What a beautiful, heart felt post.
    May you find all that your heart is looking for in this New Year as you long to be in the Word of God and draw closer to Him.
    All Gods best to you as you continue to raise your daughter for God’s glory.

    Blessings to you, Debbie

  3. That is exactly what I wrote about today- sharing Jesus with your kids before it is to late. I like you am striving to live in the Word of God in 2015! God bless!

  4. Hi…I’m visiting from Roses of Inspiration. The title of your post caught my eye and I’m glad I came. I am 60 years old and still struggle sometimes with these things too…I mean, how old do I have to get before I “get” it? Don’t get me wrong, I love the Lord and have been growing in Him but sometimes I feel I should be further along than I am now. This becomes more evident at the beginning of a new year, especially. I don’t have a daughter but two grown sons in their 30’s. My older one has had many struggles throughout his life (alcohol addiction) and it began as a teenager. He is 35, still struggling but I will never give up on him. I truly believe “You’ve never gone too far that God can’t redeem you, restore you, forgive you and give you a second chance.” Even a third, a forth…or however many it takes…I will never give up on him. Thank you for this post!

    Blessings,
    Debby

Leave a Reply

