Treesofreverie Read-a-Thon Day 2

image

72 Hour Read-a-Thon Bookish Challenge and Progress Update

Pick A book you would like to see made into a film:

The Witching Hour by Anne Rice.

I have read The Witching Hour three times and every time I read it I insert actors and actresses I love into the roles.  I have envisioned this movie for years.  I know these characters and settings would just flourish on the silver screen.  I love films that are set in the deep South, a favorite being Midnight in The Garden of good and Evil by Clint Eastwood.  The possibilities for spectacular cinematography are overwhelming in the French Quarter and down in the bayou. I know that Deirdre’s house itself would become a pivotal character in a film adaptation.

As for the main characters I have always seen Nicole Kidman playing Dr. Rowan Mayfair.  Nicole has a style and elegance that personifies Rowan and she definitely has the talent to pull off such a complex character. Then there is Michael, who I don’t believe could be played by anyone other than Matt Damon. The character description Miss Rice gives for Michael is completely and absolutely Matt! I’ve always seen Alex Skaarsgard in the role of Lasher.  It may be a little cliche (insert Alex’s portrayal of Eric Northman), but he’s got the air and presence of a supernatural being.  Some other musts would be Gary Oldman (aged of course) in the role of Aaron Lightner of the Talamasca and Frances Conroy as Mary Beth Mayfair!

72 Hour read-A-Thon Progress Update:

As of the end of Sunday 1/25 I have finished The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman (approx. 100 pages) and read the first three chapters of Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira.  My daughter adored this book (she’s a huge Kurt Cobain fan) and she’s been insisting that I interrupt my to-be-read list to read this one.

Leave a Reply

